Choosing an Israel Experience

20 Feb

18 requirements for a quality Israel experience

By Rabbi Lee Diamond

1. My Israel experience is not just a tour but an Israel experience.

2. My Israel experience has a clear goal upon which my program is built and I am aware of it.

3. My Israel experience tells the story of the journey of Jewish people in the land of Israel and is not just a loose collection of geographical sites.

4. My Israel experience has a guide who is a gifted and dedicated story teller – a “magid” of our time.

5. My Israel experience has a guide whose personal life reflects Jewish and Israeli values and commitments.

6. My Israel experience allows for this story to develop day by day and build upon itself.

7. My Israel experience is based upon Jewish values that emerge in every site.

8. My Israel experience relates to my life as member of the Jewish people and as such is inclusive.

9. My Israel experience is not only about a “Eretz Yisrael” (the land) but is about Am Yisrael (the Jewish people), and Torat Yisrael (the religious culture of Jewish people.)

10. My Israel experience allows me to touch the heart and soul of the land and its people.

11. My Israel experience provides me with an insight into the issues of life that we face as a nation today.

12. My Israel experience is a celebration of the the Jewish People and Israel.

13. My Israel experience is child friendly.

14. My Israel experience includes fun activities and cultural experiences every day for all ages.

15. My Israel experience includes classical sites as well as sites reflecting the cutting edge of Israel today.

16. My Israel experience provides me with the freedom for some self-exploration.

17. My Israel experience has both an American staff as well as “on site” Israeli staff.

18. My Israel experience has me in mind and as such allows me to bring it home with me –  to cherish and to live with always.

Rabbi Lee Diamond is the the Israel Director of Israel Celebration Tours (ICT). He can be contacted at diamondj@013.net

One Response to “Choosing an Israel Experience”

  1. uzi March 16, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    “9. My Israel experience is not only about a “Eretz Yisrael” (the land) but is about Am Yisrael (the Jewish people), and Torat Yisrael (the religious culture of Jewish people.)”

    What about Medinat Yisrael?

Leave a Reply

