On sinat chinam (baseless hatred)

12 Oct

by Anonymous

Image courtesy of Wikipedia

Image courtesy of Wikipedia

On Shabbat I was walking home from shule and I met a long-haired secular hippie scrubbing the pavement of Park Hamesila. I asked him what was written that he was so desperately trying to erase and he showed me: מוות לערבים, בני זונות (Death to Arabs, SOBs). He expressed his frustration that his cleaning endeavors were quite unsuccessful because he was using home-made ecologically friendly cleaning fluid. He shared that he didn’t want to use bleach because it might damage the plants along the old train track. I suggested that he might be interested in attending a Meretz rally after Shabbat came out. He said he was more interested in attending a later rally, which was non-partisan. I averred that everything is political, and that maybe this is davka the time to shout out that we warned that a wave of terror-cum-intifada would be the inevitable result of no diplomatic horizon and that we needed to stand up strongly against the evils of racism without compromise, without talk of Jewish unity, and without displaying any understanding for evil, even when it comes from apparently alienated, misunderstood and disaffected Jewish youth. In response he shared that he had once been dati leumi (national religious), raised on a diet of supremacy masked as chosenness, of the Land in its entirety belongs to us, of Arabs can go to hell. He continued and said that once, while he was participating in tiyul shnati (annual class field trip) in the Old City of Jerusalem, he had kicked an Arab child riding on a toy truck. Why? Not because he was evil but because he had grown up in a particular context and acted without thinking according to the norms and mores of that context. It was the first time he had shared his story with anybody. He was an optimist that people could change and considered himself living proof of his this possibility.

Later that night I went to the Meretz rally, wearing a Meretz t-shirt, along with my kippah. Somebody approached me and demanded that I remove my kippah. I thought that maybe this was a foolish kid who had confused supporting freedom of and from religion with being anti-religious, or perhaps he was a practical jokester. He then added that one can’t be left-wing and religious, and that I should therefore take off my kippah. I refused, explaining that I was proud to be both religious and left-wing. He then replied that he hoped that when the day comes on which the Arabs are slaughtered, his wish is that I should be slaughtered first, because I am even worse than an Arab – I am an enabler. The kid will be drafted into the IDF later this year. God help us all.

On my return to the car, I walked past a girl sitting on a fence, talking on her cell phone. Still wearing my Meretz top as I passed her, she told her telephone partner that a traitor was next to her, a disgusting traitor from Meretz. I asked her what I had done to her that would make her speak that way about a fellow person, a Jew, an Israeli. She told me that I supported the murder of innocent Jews, and that I should be locked up together with ISIS. When I continued to protest (in my thick Anglo accent) she said that I should go back to America. I said that this country was built by olim (immigrants) and that perhaps her grandparents should go back to where they came from, to which she responded that she was a hundredth generation Israeli. God help us all.

So, I not only have to worry about falling victim to Palestinian terror, but also have to worry about falling victim to rightist terror. And the incitement is only one way. Leftists do not call for the murder of rightists. Even when a right-wing counter-protester stood amongst the crowd shouting that we are all collaborators (and we know what should happen to collaborators), organizers simply said that there are some ideological opponents present who should be ignored. What has happened to our society that teenagers think that it is appropriate to speak this way to total strangers? What has happened to our society that people call for my murder without thinking twice? We have learned nothing from either the assassination of Rabin twenty years ago or from the murder of Emil Grunzweig thirty-two years ago. I wouldn’t be surprised if the next political murder is just around the corner. God help us all.

Anonymous is a Meretz activist, who is an oleh from the US, and who is just a little bit scared for his life.

Leave a Reply

